10 under 20

Hey y’all! Guess what? I think I can smell SPRING! The problem is, my face/hair/skin are all still firmly ensconced in WINTER MODE. Dry, pale, frizzy…so hot. Not. Well, I have a feeling that I’m not the only one, and I have some secret weapons to share with you. Winter skin, begone! You have no power here! The best part? All of these products are a steal! The most expensive one is 18 bucks. You’re welcome.

1. Olay Complete SPF 30: I just started using moisturizer recently, because I was under the impression that it made my face break out. WRONG. Now I do. I sound like a commercial but it’s true. 12 bucks. Heck yes.

 

 

2. Greatlash Mascara: pink bottle, green cap. All you’ll ever need to know. Get. It. $3-$4.00

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Aussie Mega Hairspray: Giant bottle that lasts FOREVER, and a good hold that doesn’t get sticky. Cost: $3.50(ish)

4. Tresemme Anti-Frizz Secret creme: This stuff is magic. It calms flyaways, makes hair shiny, and smells great, and it’ll only decrease your assets by about 3 bucks. Totes worth it.

 

 

 

 

5. St. Ives Apricot Scrub: This one has been around forever, and it’s easy to see why. It smells awesome and leaves your skin smooth and glowing. 5-6 dollars at most drugstores.

 

6. Jergen’s Natural Glow: I looked for a long time before I found a self-tanner that will leave my vampire-like skin anything but orange and streaky. This has several shades that leave a natural, blotch-free color that builds up very gradually, so you have more control over the amount of tan you get. 7-8 dollars for a pretty substantial bottle.

7. VO5 Hot Oil w/Vitamin E: My hair gets really dry because of the constant styling and the chlorine in the water, but this stuff left it soft and, dare I say it, MANAGEABLE. A miracle! 4 bucks for what is supposed to be  two treatments, but it depends how thick your hair is.  I had to use both bottles. Still not spendy, though.

 

 

 

8. Orly Nail Polish: I love the “Gumdrop” color, despite the nauseating name, it’s a very cool blue that never fails to generate compliments. It’s just as high-quality as OPI, in my opinion. You can find it online, or at ULTA beauty stores, for 7 dollars per bottle.

9. Burt’s Bees Lip Balm: I thought it was impossible to improve on Chapstick, but I can’t live without my Burt’s. It’s minty, soothing, and organic (for all you hippies. I love you.) I get mine at Fred Meyer, but you can find it at a lot of stores, as well as online, for 3 bucks a tube. They also have colored formulas with great shimmer, if you’re less of a purist.

THIS IS WHAT HEAVEN SMELLS LIKE

10. Outremer Oceane Eau de Toilette: Words cannot describe how much I love the smell of this stuff. I want to bathe in it. I buy mine from Anthropologie, and for a while they discontinued it. I nearly died. Thankfully, it’s availble on Amazon for 18 dollars a bottle. It’s light, beachy, (not “Beachy”, which usually translates to powdery and overly floral), and even a perfume snob like me was immediatly smitten. Everyone wants to know what it is when they smell it on you. Just smile sweetly and say “It’s French”, and feel like a million bucks.

2 thoughts on “10 under 20

Leave a Reply

