About Face

Greetings, guys and gals! I have good news: it’s almost Friday! (For some of you reading it probably already is. Lucky bums. BYE.) I hope y’all had a good week, I just finished my finals and am looking forward to 6 weeks of freedom! (Minus work. That doesn’t count.)
ANYWAY.
A lot of ladies I know have decided to go “make-up free” lately, whether it be for a month or two of for a longer period. I think it’s a great idea, and as I’m working on a painting crew this summer, I haven’t been wearing much myself! Not only that, it’s good for your skin to have a break from cosmetics, as long as you continue to take good care of it. (Read: SUNSCREEN. You don’t want to end up looking like a raisin when you’re 40!)
But, as always, I have a nit to pick. Wearing or not wearing make-up is a personal choice. If you don’t, fine! If you do, great! What I’m tired of hearing is things like “The only true beauty is natural”, “Girls that love themselves don’t need make-up” etc. etc. I have a healthy amount of confidence in how I look, and I don’t need mascara to feel good about myself. I’m not shallow at all. I do love make-up, though! Eyeliner is my favorite. I have roughly 7.5 million kinds.
Wearing make-up doesn’t make you a sissy, and it doesn’t mean you value yourself less than someone who doesn’t. What I put on my face is my business, and I’d like it to stay that way.

2 thoughts on “About Face

  1. I’m kind of obsessed with make-up. Not that what I wear is particularly over the top, but I do find it very hard to go out with out any on. They don’t call it ‘war paint’ for nothing 😉

Leave a Reply

