Magpie Syndrome

Hey everyone! Hope your day is going well. Firstly, I’d like to say that if you or someone you know was affected by the recent hurricane, the Northwest is praying for you, and our best wishes for a speedy recovery. Also, if you would like to know how to help hurricane Sandy’s victims, visit americares.org to make a direct donation to the relief effort.

image from vanishingvintage.blogspot.com

And now for something completely different: I’ve been somewhat of a magpie..as in I love shiny things, especially jewelry. (I blame my mom for passing this down! I also feel like I have used that excuse before.) I also design and make jewelry, and have been for about 10 years, which makes my *ahem* fondness even more obvious.

Lovely owl pendant. Image from Silcom.com

My favorite type of jewelry is vintage costume jewelry. It’s so much more unique, and often of much better quality, than anything you’re going to find at Claire’s. (No offense, Claire’s. I love your sale rack.) However, as I use a lot of repurposed vintage in my work, I’ve noticed it’s getting harder to find.

Rhinestone earrings from girlsjewelryonline.com

There are a variety of good online places to find costume jewelry, including the obvious, eBay.com. I quick search for ‘jewelry’ in the Costume category will quickly yield thousands of results, which you can filter by era, price, location, etc. Another site (for a higher quality..and bigger price) is http://www.rubylane.com. If you Google ‘vintage costume jewelry’, you can find tons of great sites. I used to find a lot at thrift stores, but as I said, it’s getting rarer.

Wherever you find it, vintage costume jewelry is great fun to wear, and you’ll know that (almost) nobody else will have exactly the same thing you do!

Leave a Reply

