Pomp & Circumstance

Happy Monday, Dudes and Dudettes! I hope those of you that celebrated Thanksgiving had a good one. I laid on the couch and hugged the cat for about three days straight, and I do not apologize for it. I also saw the new Twilight…which I DO apologize for, if only to myself.
But let’s get down to business.
I also watched Indiana Jones & The Glassy Cranium or whatever it’s called. Although there are quite a few things in that film that make me more than slightly uncomfortable (Shia LeBeef, fire ants, Cate Blanchette’s pants/wig/accent, and, of course, SNAKES), the 50’s hair and fashion and cars are. Awe. Some. It caused me physical pain to see those autos smushed up.
Back to hair. I scoured the interwebs for a (non-video) tutorial on how to style women’s hair into a pompadour, but I couldn’t find one I liked. SO, being the enterprising thing I am, I did it myself. Observe. (Sorry for the janky cellphone pictures, my other camera is a little bulky for selfies, and I refuse to succumb to the iPhone.)

The first thing you need to do is get some volume in your hair. You can do this by teasing, but that’s pretty bad for your hair. If you have them, set the top of your hair in hot rollers for 10-15 minutes, then take them out, spray them with high hold hairspray, and brush them out after a couple minutes.


After you take the rollers out and brush, this is what you will have, but don’t freak out. This is a work in progress. Put the rest of your hair in a ponytail to keep it out of the way.


Separate a bit of hair out, like you have very long bangs. If you have bangs, this is already done for you. Tease (LIGHTLY) the rest of the section you put on rollers. for a bit more volume. Word to the wise: I have thick, unruly, pooftastic hair. If you have finer, more well-behaved locks, you will have to work a little harder at this step.


Pin the teased section into a poof, then pull the sleek (bangs) section over it and pin it. This way, you get plenty of volume but the front still looks smooth and polished. Don’t pin it as high as mine in this picture though, unless you want to look like Snooki.


Start sectioning hair from the sides of your head with your teasing comb. Take these sections, cross them behind the poof to the opposite side of your head, and pin them at the top of your skull. Essentially, you’re just pulling the sides up and back to get that slick ‘greaser’ look. Put the rest of your hair into a ponytail. If you have time, curling the pony looks pretty kickin’.


Ta-DA!!! This is a shot of the top, it shows the crossing-pinning thing better. Don’t be discouraged if it takes a little while to get this, trust me I didn’t succeed the first time. Spray your head thouroughly, and start saying things like “Daddy-O, don’t try to goof me up, get me?”

Leave a Reply

